Slideshow aborted on impossible MouseMove

Post your questions, bug reports and feature requests here
Post Reply
Grelofgarta
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2019 3:14 pm

Slideshow aborted on impossible MouseMove

Post by Grelofgarta »

Hi,
sometimes the screensaver closes unexpectedly. The logs say that it detected a mouse move but i did not move my mouse:

30-9-2019 20:20:58 : ChangeBitmap: Exit
30-9-2019 20:20:58 : ChangeBitmap: Exit
30-9-2019 20:20:58 : OnMouseMove,0: -1920,0
30-9-2019 20:20:58 : ExecuteEventAction: 1
30-9-2019 20:20:58 : CheckClosing
30-9-2019 20:20:58 : VerifyPassword returning 1
30-9-2019 20:20:58 : CloseAllWindows
30-9-2019 20:20:58 : WM_CLOSE->3557f60
30-9-2019 20:20:58 : WM_CLOSE->3573040
30-9-2019 20:20:58 : OnClose()
30-9-2019 20:20:58 : OnDestroy()
30-9-2019 20:20:58 : SaveCurrentLists: time=0ms
30-9-2019 20:20:58 : Reset()
30-9-2019 20:20:58 : OnClose()
30-9-2019 20:20:58 : OnDestroy()
30-9-2019 20:20:58 : Reset()
30-9-2019 20:20:58 : ExitInstance
30-9-2019 20:20:58 : Exif Read Counters: rating=0, orientation=0 ,Keyw=0

When i close the screensaver by moving the mouse the logs look like this:

30-9-2019 20:35:9 : ChangeBitmap: Exit
30-9-2019 20:35:9 : ChangeBitmap: Exit
30-9-2019 20:35:9 : OnTimer: Exit
30-9-2019 20:35:12 : OnMouseMove,0: 0,-2
30-9-2019 20:35:12 : OnMouseMove,0: 0,-4
30-9-2019 20:35:12 : ExecuteEventAction: 1
30-9-2019 20:35:12 : CheckClosing
30-9-2019 20:35:12 : VerifyPassword returning 1
30-9-2019 20:35:12 : CloseAllWindows
30-9-2019 20:35:12 : WM_CLOSE->3448720
30-9-2019 20:35:12 : WM_CLOSE->3460d80
30-9-2019 20:35:12 : OnClose()
30-9-2019 20:35:12 : OnDestroy()
30-9-2019 20:35:12 : SaveCurrentLists: time=0ms
30-9-2019 20:35:12 : Reset()
30-9-2019 20:35:12 : OnClose()
30-9-2019 20:35:12 : OnDestroy()
30-9-2019 20:35:12 : Reset()
30-9-2019 20:35:12 : ExitInstance
30-9-2019 20:35:12 : Exif Read Counters: rating=0, orientation=0 ,Keyw=0

Notice that the OnMouseMove Coordinates are -2 and -4 where on the first example where i did not move the mouse they were -1920 which seems suspicious.
User avatar
gpb
Site Admin
Posts: 761
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 1:23 am

Re: Slideshow aborted on impossible MouseMove

Post by gpb »

Hello,
MouseMove message notifies gPhotoShow that mouse has been moved, it uses absolute screen coordinates, in the log the last two numbers are differences between last position and the new one, if absolute value is grater then 2 then gPhotoShow consider mouse has been moved. It is possible to tweak that value but in situations like the first log I think there is no way to ignore that movement.
I know in the past some users had issues with wireless mouses causing continuous small movements, in this case it is possible to set some registry values to make gPhotoShow to ignore small movements or to raise the threshold, but it doesn't seems your case.
Did you notice if popup windows are displayed over gPhotoShow ?
Gianpaolo Bottin
gPhotoShow.com
Grelofgarta
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2019 3:14 pm

Re: Slideshow aborted on impossible MouseMove

Post by Grelofgarta »

Hi,
thanks for your response. I do do not think any popup windows did show up. I use it as screensaver so when it is playing, no other windows are visible. My Desktop resolution is 1920 so it seems to think that i moved my mouse over one whole screen, which is impossible in the short time that it counts right? So somehow the programm must be repositioning my mouse.

I use 2 Monitors and display one image on each monitor with panoramic images spanned on both monitors. Maybe it has something to do with this?

As i think of it the only popup i see is the notification "gphotoshow recovered from a serious error". which is caused by the SEH Exception that i described in another post.
We fixed the SEH Exception but it is still detecting these -1920 mouseMoves even when no error popup by gphotoshowpro is displayed.

A workaround for this problem would probably be to allow the screensaver to be only cancelled by keypresses and not mouse movements but that would take some time for me to get used to.

Edit:
I did some more research and it only seems to be detecting the -1920 mousemovents when it is switching from displaying individual images on each monitor to displaying one panoramic image spanned on both monitors.

Log1:
1-10-2019 20:23:4 : LoadNewImage: Monitor 1 Loading file C:\Users\...\image1.jpg
1-10-2019 20:23:4 : VideoRestoreAudio 1
1-10-2019 20:23:4 : GDI+ Loading Time: 0.00
1-10-2019 20:23:4 : ReadExifData: time= 0ms
1-10-2019 20:23:4 : IsPanoFile: H 3840 1200 - 1920 1200
1-10-2019 20:23:4 : ResizeBmp_gdiplus: Old Size=3840,1200 New Size=3840,1200 Stretch=0
1-10-2019 20:23:4 : Total Processing Time: 0.47
1-10-2019 20:23:4 : Working Set Size : 07275000 (114.46 Mb)
1-10-2019 20:23:4 : Peak Working Set Size: 08d60000 (141.38 Mb)
1-10-2019 20:23:4 : ChangeBitmap: LoadNewImage er=0
1-10-2019 20:23:4 : ChangeBitmap: Exit
1-10-2019 20:23:4 : ChangeBitmap: Exit
1-10-2019 20:23:4 : OnMouseMove,0: -1920,0
1-10-2019 20:23:4 : ExecuteEventAction: 1
1-10-2019 20:23:4 : CheckClosing
1-10-2019 20:23:4 : VerifyPassword returning 1
1-10-2019 20:23:4 : CloseAllWindows

Log2:
1-10-2019 20:32:40 : LoadNewImage: Monitor 1 Loading file C:\Users\...\image2.jpg
1-10-2019 20:32:40 : VideoRestoreAudio 1
1-10-2019 20:32:40 : GDI+ Loading Time: 0.01
1-10-2019 20:32:40 : ReadExifData: time= 0ms
1-10-2019 20:32:40 : IsPanoFile: H 3840 1200 - 1920 1200
1-10-2019 20:32:40 : ResizeBmp_gdiplus: Old Size=3840,1200 New Size=3840,1200 Stretch=0
1-10-2019 20:32:40 : Total Processing Time: 0.58
1-10-2019 20:32:40 : Working Set Size : 0712b000 (113.17 Mb)
1-10-2019 20:32:40 : Peak Working Set Size: 08464000 (132.39 Mb)
1-10-2019 20:32:40 : ChangeBitmap: LoadNewImage er=0
1-10-2019 20:32:40 : ChangeBitmap: Exit
1-10-2019 20:32:40 : ChangeBitmap: Exit
1-10-2019 20:32:40 : OnMouseMove,0: -1920,0
1-10-2019 20:32:40 : ExecuteEventAction: 1
1-10-2019 20:32:40 : CheckClosing
1-10-2019 20:32:40 : VerifyPassword returning 1
1-10-2019 20:32:40 : CloseAllWindows

But it only cancels sometimes, most of the times panoramic images are displayed correctly, which is strange.
User avatar
gpb
Site Admin
Posts: 761
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 1:23 am

Re: Slideshow aborted on impossible MouseMove

Post by gpb »

Thank you for your tests, now I understand what could cause the issue. When switching from 2 images to one panoramic gPhotoShow changes its windows layout and maybe an internal variable is not updated with last position so the first mouse movement even if very small is detect as large. I will investigate about this issue.
Gianpaolo Bottin
gPhotoShow.com
User avatar
gpb
Site Admin
Posts: 761
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 1:23 am

Re: Slideshow aborted on impossible MouseMove

Post by gpb »

I think I found the bug, it happens when switching from 2 images to a single image spanned.
I will be fixed in the next update released within few days.
Gianpaolo Bottin
gPhotoShow.com
Grelofgarta
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2019 3:14 pm

Re: Slideshow aborted on impossible MouseMove

Post by Grelofgarta »

Great! Thats what i call good customer support! Also congratulations to your 500th post!
Post Reply